Posted in Natural Hair

Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Shampoo

So, the other day, I ran out of my staple cleanser, my lovely and trustworthy Terressentials Hair Wash. Since the only supplier that I could drive to, Community Pharmacy in Madison, was closed, I had to find something else.

I originally wanted to buy the Jamaican Black Castor Oil Shampoo from Shea Moisture, but my local Target didn’t have it. So, I drove all the way to Trader Joe’s since I’ve heard so many great reviews. So I picked it up with no reservations!

So I went home, sectioned my hair, applied my hot oil treatment, and started shampooing away.

And this is where everything went wrong…

When shampooing my hair, I tend to go for the scalp, scrub and bring the suds down the rest of my hair, then I re-twist it, go back to the other sections, and then wash the product out.

When I went to do this, I heard my hair squeak. 

rsqueak

Now in any other case, this would be good. Squeaky clean teeth, squeaky clean floors, squeaky clean windows, etc. This was not one of those cases.

My hair was stripped and I was not happy. 

The fact that this happened despite the fact that I did a hot oil treatment not long beforehand just made me even more upset.

There was also the fact that there was now more hair in my drain than usual.

After this, I deep conditioned my hair with the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque. It felt a tad bit better, but it still felt like straw.

rice_straw_japan

So, I think I’m going to give this one a rest. I’ll probably give the rest of the bottle away to someone with oilier hair, and I’ll just stick with my staples. I mean, like they say, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” 

One thought on “Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Shampoo

  1. Ah man! Well at least now you know! That’s the thing, somethings are great for some people, and horrid for others.. I’m sorry the shampoo made your hair so dry, I had always wanted to try this, but since my hair is especially particular about the shampoos it prefers, I may have to avoid it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

