Posted in Life, Ramblings

When you’re 13 going on 30

So, today I was driving home from work/apartment shopping, and I stopped at a red light just to see a roaming pack of preteens, all girls, in some skimpy skirts, cellphones, and Starbucks. Of course, I sighed, shook my head, and started ranting to my roommate.

I shouldn’t even ask the question, because not too long ago, I was in the same situation…but I’m going to do it anyway. Why are kids always in such a hurry to grow up?

Yeah, I know it’s hypocritical of me to ask. Hell, it’s hypocritical of pretty much all of ask, because we all were more than likely trying to do the same thing. We tried to say that we knew, when we really didn’t. We’d get mad when adults tried to make decisions for us. Most of us rebelled in any little way that we can.

Then we started to grow up, and realize the reasoning behind our parents’ (or guardians’) actions. Then we started to think like that. And then we proceeded to superimpose those thoughts towards our younger peers.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve accepted the fact that I’ve become the nagging older sister type that I’ve always disliked. Sometimes I check in (creep) on my younger relatives to see if they’re behaving themselves. Most of the time they are, but…

Sometimes, I see things that they post such as:

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 11.03.37 PM
Yikes.

And all I can think is…this kid doesn’t even know the differences between they’re, there, and their but is talking about losing v-cards. I’m not even going to mention that response…because no.

All, I want to do is pull them to the side and just tell them that that girl/guy that you’re pining over…isn’t shit. Don’t worry about being the first or last to lose your virginity, don’t worry about who has the fattest ass, or the biggest dick, because first of all, ew. Second of all, why? Chill out!

But I can’t and I won’t. I won’t be able to change some kid’s life by nagging them. They need to learn from their parents and from life experiences. Because, I guess that’s what your teenage years are for. You have an adult(ish) body, your hormones are going into over time, you still kind of have the mind of a child, and then you want to be an adult.

Yeah…I would never go back to those years.

Leave a Reply

