Posted in Ramblings, Uncategorized

Let’s Talk About Shorts…

So, I moved to Madison not too long ago, and so far summer here has been…well, summer-y. It’s hot one day, humid the next, and when both of those things happen…well, you’re pretty much screwed.

So naturally, when it’s hot and I don’t want to repeat the mistake of overdressing in the heat, I wear shorts. No big deal right?

WRONG!

For some reason, when I came to the Midwest, I expected hospitality, kindness, courtesy, you know. But this morning, and I’m talking about 7 in the morning, when I went to get my car, some douchebag really just had the nerve to slow down, leer at me, and freaking yell obscenities at me. Like he legit yelled “I want to fuck you.

Like really? Who even does that?

I tend to feel self conscious when wearing shorts because, despite the fact that I’m rather slim, my lower body is a bit curvy. Don’t get me wrong, I love it! But when I wear anything that remotely hikes up at the back, I just feel like someone’s just leering, and are about to say something. And they do. And it sucks.

There’s nothing worse than some scumbag leaning out of his car and just ruining my day by making me feel gross. 

Catcalling. It’s not cool. It’s weird. Like, are you seriously expecting us to chase you down while asking for your number?

enhanced-buzz-18429-1365707736-0

Simmer down thirsty ones! Let me wear my shorts in peace!

 

7 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Shorts…

  1. LOL the funny thing is, most girls actually love it when that happens. I know someone who enjoys it. When it happens, I’m usually the jobless one who picks offence for her. Sometimes when I see things like that or when they happen to me, I don’t waste my time getting angry anymore. You know why? Because sometimes, ladies encourage it and make it a yardstick with which to measure how “hot” she is or how attractive she is.
    Catcalling is irritating.
    Let me tell you my story:
    I left my house at around 8 a.m or so to get bread for breakfast. I was on a navy blue skirt that was slightly above my knee and a short sleeved blouse. I noticed a black car coming behind me so I stopped for it to continue moving, so it doesn’t hit me. To cut the long story short, the guy in the PASSENGER seat tried to talk to me and I just ignored him and kept walking so he ended up calling me an ugly girl with dirty skin and then they both sped off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

