Posted in Fluff/Ramblings, Natural Hair, Uncategorized

Hi

So…it’s been a while. I wanted to update like two months ago, but life happened I guess. Since the, I’ve graduated university, spent time with family in New York, Philly, and Florida, attended a Beyonce concert with my lovely cousin, moved to a new state, and started a new job. So yeah, life is pretty hectic, but I love it!

The reason I’m writing today, I guess, is that I had a pretty weird/kind of normal experience last night. I went out with a few friends, had dinner, grabbed some drinks. You know, the “normal” things that 20-somethings do.

But, yesterday, this older lady came up to me and gushed about how lovely I looked, with my “effortless” bun, beautiful dress, smooth skin, and amazing hair. Granted, I was flattered, especially since she complimented me without touching me (it’s happened before, people have literally just reached their hands into my hair without permission).

The bizarre thing was when she kept repeating that she’d “kill” to have hair and skin like mine, while I was just there smiling, laughing, kind of drunk. But thinking about it today, it’s just strange that the things that I hated about myself when I was younger are the things that people are kind of enticed by. I think my wording is off, but hopefully you catch my drift.

What I’m meaning to say is that we hear so much about people hating the bodies that they were born in. Azealia Banks and Lil’ Kim bleaching their skin, you know. Those two women are beautiful, but it’s so sad that they find it necessary to alter themselves. I think I’m kind of rambling today. It’s just been such a weird time for me, growing into myself and loving myself.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll be able to update more. I have a bottle of Terressentials that I’m dying to do a review on, plus I’ve been indigoing my hair! So, until then, stay safe and love yourselves!

 

Leave a Reply

