Posted in School/University Life, Uncategorized

Fear of the unknown

So I decided, along with my other roommates, to go to Portugal for Spring Break in March (thank God for Groupon). I’ve been saving for a while and it ended up being the best deal that we found! After finding the deal, we called our parents to inform them of our plans, like the good children that we are.

We pretty much were met with the same responses. They ranged from: “but Isis is over there” to “but it’s so far, why don’t you just stay in the US?” to “are you sure? Did you do your research, the world is a dangerous place you know?” They’re all fine and all. It’s fine to have fear, we’re human, it’s how we survive. The problem comes when our fears are so overpowering that it prevents us from living our lives to the fullest. I already know that I’m going to die at some point in my life. We all are. I want to live a long life, but I don’t want that life to consist of me just hiding away in somewhere that is “safe.” There is no such place. I mean, come on! We’re all on a planet hurtling through space! Some asteroid could come and wipe us out. A super-volcano could erupt at any moment and just screw us over. Despite the differences that we love to put between ourselves, and the safe places that we’ve imagined, we’re all in the same boat. Screwed. Doomed. Gonna die. But, at the moment, we have life. There’s no point in just hiding away just to live another day, because at some point, that other day isn’t going to come.

That got a lot darker than I wanted it to get, but it’s true. Anyway, I’ll make sure to blog about Portugal when I get there. Well, probably after I get back home because I really want to enjoy my time with my roommates. I mean, when are we ever going to be able to travel and spend time with them like this?

Leave a Reply

