Posted in Fluff/Ramblings, Ramblings

Being Your Best Self

I’m finally beginning my journey to health! Again. There’s just something about being at home that just turns me into a lazy potato, but when I’m at school, I just want to do everything! I practice martial arts, I go to the gym almost everyday, and now I’m even going to learn how to swim! I’m really excited about that by the way, at least if I fall off a bridge I’ll be able to swim!

I’ll have to admit the fact that I exercise for vanity and health. Vanity because I want to be toned, I want to have abs, that glowing skin, and I certainly want to have that cute butt. I also do it for health, as I want to make sure that I won’t have to deal with heart disease (something that many women deal with), lower my risks of cancer, and I want to live longer. Strangely enough though, when I tell others that I am going to the gym or that I want to be healthier, they look at me and comment something like “you’re already so skinny, why do you need to exercise/eat so healthy?” This annoys me, yes, I do it for the vanity, but I’m going to say this right now: skinny does not equal healthy. I have a high metabolism and that’s great, but I want to be able to run around and not be out of breath. The same goes for bigger people too. We as a society have such an obsession with the perfect body that we lose sight of the fact that we are all different. We all have our own perfect bodies or we can achieve our own perfect bodies. We don’t have to alter ourselves cosmetically to be beautiful, we only need be healthy. It took me far too long to realize that, and I still don’t appreciate myself as much as I should.

I want to be my best self. Not the person who is skinny by simply laying around, watching TV, and eating. Rather, I want to be the person who looks and feels healthy while living my life. No matter your shape, make sure to live your lives to the fullest. Make sure that you’re able to go after the things that you love, both physically and emotionally. Let no one get in the way of your happiness.

Leave a Reply

